Trust Me, I'm a Storyteller

July 14, 2013

Nicole Foster is Getting Students Excited about an Online Education

This week, I had an email from Nicole Foster about her article

Getting Students Excited about an Online Education.

This is a topic close to my heart, as I have taught online writing (and other) courses for many years. I had the great pleasure of teaching at the Nottingham Trent University (UK) trAce Online Writing school, Summer School and writing workshops. After that, the trAce manager Helen Whitehead and I opened and ran our own global online writing school ‘Season of Inspiration’ using the Moodle Virtual Learning Environment (VLE). We enjoyed running the many courses designed to inspire, motivate and provide feedback for writers of all genres. It was exciting to work with writers from all around the world, many of whom keep in touch long after the courses have ended. The experience of teaching in user-friendly VLEs that create a dynamic and encouraging environment for learning has been extremely positive. I’ve also had experience of teaching courses in the more common though less user-friendly and exciting VLEs and have noted the difference between the two.

Nicole’s article was of great interest to me and if you are an online teacher or learner (or both, as I am), you might enjoy it too.

Here’s is Nicole’s message and the link to her article Getting Students Excited about an Online Education.

My name is Nicole, and I recently published an article about the major misconceptions about online education. The piece takes an in-depth look at some of the popular beliefs surrounding e-learning and what we can do get students excited about online education.

The full article was published here: http://www.bestcollegesonline.com/blog/2013/06/24/getting-students-excited-about-an-online-education/

In addition to providing a comprehensive look at the common misconceptions about online education, we wanted to include as many online resources for readers interested in learning about the current state of online learning and how to get students excited about utilizing these resources.

I’d also love to hear what your readers think! Looking forward to hearing from you. Let me know if I can answer any questions about the piece

Thanks,
Nicole

Do take time to read Nicole’s article and let us know your comments and questions.

Thanks,

Sharon

2 Comments »

  1. I blog often and I really appreciate your information. This article
    has really peaked my interest. I’m going to take a note of your website and keep checking for new information about once per week.
    I subscribed to your Feed as well.

    Comment by iphone 3gs jailbreak dev team — November 17, 2013 @ 5:04 pm | Reply

    • Many thanks for your kind comments. Posts are mostly about books and writing; events in the arts – mostly books, theatre and cinema; and higher education. It’s great that you’ve subscribed and I trust you will enjoy the information and invitations on this blog.

      Warmest wishes, Sharon

      Comment by roundtablewriting — November 21, 2013 @ 2:28 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

